Subscriptions and Discounts

Annual Subscription of £3.00 is due on 1st January each year - Robin Goodfellow, 3 Newlands, Langton Green TN3 OBU Telephone 01892 862513.

Money can be left through door and membership cards will be delivered, or join up at any of our events.

Discounts of 10% are available at Royal Mires and Millbrook Garden Centre on production of your membership card (Discount is not on all items).

Discounts also available at Wyevale Garden Centre, Tunbridge Wells. 10% on plants and gardening products and 20% in their restaurant.  NOTE - this is under review given the news of the take over by Blue Diamond.


Our History

The Groombridge District Horticultural Society was formed in November 1930 by Mr McDonald who was the head gardener at Burrswood and was the first chairman. The president was Col. Royds from Glen Andred and the patron was Sir Derek Watson from Burrswood.

The first Annual Show, in a marquee on the cricket ground, was held in August 1931 and for many years was held in conjunction with the Children's Sports Day on August Bank Holiday.

The Society was suspended during WW2 and restarted in June 1945 and from 1946 the shows were held in the old King Edward VII Institute, now known as Groombridge Village Hall.

During the 1950's the Summer Show started for sweet peas and roses, and in 1958 the Spring Show started under the guidance of Mr Herbert Barr who was a prominent raiser and exhibitor of daffodils.

Inter Society meetings and competitions began in 1963, between five neighbouring village societies, and continued until recently.

The Autumn Show grew out of chrysanthemum competitions which were held at the November monthly meetings and started in about 1978.  The format and timing of the shows continues to be reviewed and adapted in an effort to keep them relevant to modern life styles and to encourage "weekend gardeners" to have a go.

Meet the Team

Gwyneth Davies


01892 862430

Lindsey Symonds

Vice Chairman

01892 861057

Robert Hollands

Honorary Auditor


Robin Goodfellow

Honorary Treasurer and Membership Secretary

01892 862513

Lisa Innes-Cook



David Robson, Pat Agutter, Belinda Gray, Gerald Fowler,  Robin Goodfellow, Bev Watson, Sue Obbard and Claire Pengelly


Dr. Peter Steel M.B.E

Vice Presidents

Rosamund Steel, David Homewood, Peter Taylor, Geoff Ridley, Michael Truscott, Karen Wolfe, Rev. Sharon Francis, Christine Wells

Honorary Life Members         

Peter Taylor, Norman Lurcook, Gillian Gray